sunlight

Embers


sunlight

Image via sfgate.com

this time of the day is yellow
your colour is most intense before it disappears

“this time of your life is mellow
you turn to him for ardour
by watching him paint the skies you’ve turned your back on
your face beholding pseudo-lights and glaring pages of a life-decaying manuscript-to-be
is this the story that you want your future to look back to?”

remind me
that i’m not mellow
or shallow
or sullen
or forgotten
remind me
before the blushing sun covers its cheeks
before a silence sets in
before the shadow descends again

remind me how a slow breeze washes dirt like a river
remind me how a soft sunshine ignites a flame
remind me how a pelting rain cannot wash away your fragrance
remind me how a chilly night cannot overpower the embers of this heart

this time of day is fading
I reach out for your arduous colours before they’re gone
I rage, rage, rage for my life to bleed
let my colours bleed before the night that numbs could come

2 thoughts on “Embers

Leave a Reply

