Hana Kimi Made Me Cry So Hard Last Night


Hana-Kimi-Promo-hana-kimi-2673967-640-360My friend sent me a youtube link to a Japanese soap – Hanazakari no Kimitachi e. This was also dubbed for the Philippine audience and given the title Hana Kimi. Out of 12 episodes, I finished 8 last night in just two “seatings.”

I finished episode 8 at 3 in the morning. Woah. After that, I closed my laptop, pondered on why I got so addicted to it, and started crying. I cried for like 20-30 minutes. Why? The soap hit me, and it hit me real hard. The scene that hit me HARDEST was the one by the river where the lead man (Sano, in the Japanese Version) was talking with the lead girl’s brother. He admits that he really loves the sport “high jump” and that it makes him really happy when he is jumping, but after he broke the record and won a medal, the pressure to break his own record became too intense that he made his injury an excuse to run away from his true passion.

This is a typical struggle an athlete experiences. Some of us start “in love” with the sport but eventually what we were once passionate about becomes a chore, an obligation we need to keep getting better at to please the many people watching us.

But how could you expect yourself to continue to truly live if you turn away from your passions? Mizuki, the lead girl character, made it her mission to convince Sano to return to the sport that makes him smile. Sano has lost his joy and you see it in his face. He’s like a walking dead. He says he doesn’t want to jump again, that jumping is not important to him. But Mizuki rebukes him and says that a person who lies to himself is  lonely, and in agony (or something like that). It is true and this hits you like a dilemma. How can you pursue something that causes you fear? How come if you avoid it, you still experience pain nonetheless?

Welcome to life — and it can only be truly lived with COURAGE. You cannot truly live life without courage. Passion takes courage to pursue. A life fully lived is one in pursuit of our passion. How then can we truly live without the courage to reach out for the things that make us come alive?

We need courage. The courage to pursue our dreams not to please man, not just to earn money, not just to get a medal or recognition or some man-made reason that snuffs out the true reason why we should do it — LOVE. Famous runner Eric Liddel tells why he runs saying, “God made me fast. And when I run, I feel His pleasure. ” I see that as we do what we’re created to do, people also see this pleasure of God, and they get a glimpse of God and his joy over his children.

I love how St. Agustine said it perfectly, “The glory of God is man FULLY ALIVE.” I want to be fully alive. I want to pursue my passions. Because when I do, I feel God’s pleasure in my pleasure. I get a glimpse of His glory when I live courageously

One thought on “Hana Kimi Made Me Cry So Hard Last Night

Leave a Reply

