Posted in Gleanings, Journal, Photos

Newborn


When I was desperately sick and striving to comfort myself on my bed, at times I’d look at my newborn niece’s photo. And though the photo was dimly lit, it brough so much comfort. Looking at her chubby face that was without a care in the world, without anxiety or criticism or burden, but full of simple trust that there will be milk to feed her whenever the need arises but for now she can peacefully sleep in the cradle of a safe world that loves her — it was like applying a healing balm on my soul. I would look at her dimly lit camera photo and I would gasp for breath as if all of a sudden there’s oxygen again. What is it in a child’s face that when we look at them, we feel the heart of heaven and we breathe a hope we’ve lost?

image
Auntie and Baby Kari (photo credits: Jason Chan)

 

Author:

broken. humbled. a life that's ruined for a cause. a jesus revolutionary.

Leave a Reply

