‘Cause More Means Less and Vise-Versa


A good friend of my family’s, and one of my Dad’s mentors, sent us an email on his birthday last week. It was so timely and the words stuck deep. Please allow me to share a huge portion of it:

I’ve been re-reading William Law in A SERIOUS CALL OT A DEVOUT AND
HOLY LIFE – “The greatness of those things which follow death makes all that goes before it sink into nothing.”

I would say that I am a thinker, a dreamer, and adventurist; and there is a place for this – although if my life is centered upon me and what I enjoy, what will be my state when it is gone? Or, what will I be when I have decreased physical facilities?

When age takes away freedoms and activities, the true state of my life will be revealed. Then peace, and the virtues of contentment and pleasure, will reveal where I have placed my priorities – when only the memory is there of past joys, what will my condition of spirit and soul? The simple joys are the greatest joys, and the simplest most pure joy is in the spirit with Christ – whether alone or with others, this is pure reality.

When life comes nearer toward death, and the conscience of a person begins to examine the vanity of life and the reality of coming judgment – what uncertain state of mind and spirit will such a person experience which has wasted their life primarily on self and pleasures.

How easily we, who call ourselves followers of Christ become passive in our devotion to Christ; assuming – without thinking, we can live a pretense of faith in Christ while spending our mental devotion on temporal pursuits.

“Straight is the door, and narrow is the way, that leads to life, and few will find it.” Matt 7:14

“For many are called, but few are chosen”, Matt 22:14; and, “Strive to enter through the narrow door, For many, I tell you, will seek to enter and will not be able”, Luke 13:24.

Precisely similar to the questions I’ve been asking myself these past weeks. How much value are we adding to our lives, really?

2 thoughts on “‘Cause More Means Less and Vise-Versa

  1. Finally got around to stopping in to see you. I guess we don’t add any value to our life, only what God adds to it. I believe, though, that He provides joy and contentment to our life if we live for Him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

