God’s [Unmatched] Humility


How does one become humble?

I know for sure that I struggle with Pride. It doesn’t always come out of my mouth or my actions (although sometimes it does) but my mind knows it. (I know so because it’s quite often?) I can’t exactly stop opinion from crossing my head. At least, not those thoughts that flow out of the abundance of Pride in my heart. Oh God, change my mind about myself and others!

I knew for sure that God’s word is alive and powerful (Heb. 4:12), useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness (2 Tim. 3:16). So I ran to His word, it is my (and our) only hope for true and lasting transformation.

Jesus, teach me through Philippians 2, the chapter on ‘Imitating Christ’s Humility.’ I read it over and over. Prayed and prayed it over myself. Make it real. Make it pierce through. Break me through it. Change me through it. Amen.

Nothing happened in an instant. But I believed right away that God had heard and thus He started working out something. Months passed. Then I found myself reading the same Scripture during our office devotions last week. This time, it hit me in a different way.

Who, being in very nature[a] God,
did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage…

…rather, he made himself nothing

Here was the King whose footstool is the earth, choosing to live 33 years on earth as somebody prestigious? Quite the contrary! He didn’t go down ‘just a bit lower’ than His universe-Creator kingly state. He made sure that He came as a Nobody.

Well, is a Jewish carpenter a nobody? Perhaps, not really compared to all of us, because we are also humans. But compared to God’s omnipotence, to come as man, really was to make Himself ‘nothing.’ And that’s God. Took an earthly and finite form when He need not take human form. He is Spirit, why must He limit Himself inside a human body? Then he entrusted Himself to human parents. Why? Surely, in heaven He does not need anyone to take care of Him. And as He walked the earth, He never boasted about how low He had stooped down. Instead, He endured man’s rejection patiently to death.

And He was no myth of a god who sat in the heavens. He is not a folk tale or a parable or theory or an unproven historical account. He is real. And His Humility had been demonstrated fully by this act.

Now, who am I?

I am an intelligent woman who graduated from a prestigious university where only 15% of my high school batchmates were given the opportunity to enroll without waiting for a slot to open. I am a Spirit-filled Christian who sincerely loves Jesus. I strive to be diligent and excellent. I work with all my heart. I try to give more than what is asked of me. The experiences God had allowed me to go through have blessed me with a unique mix of abilities and knowledge. I was born God’s masterpiece and more so now that He has worked deeply in my life.

I was taught that a worker deserves his wages and that a skilled and experienced one must be entitled with wages that are commensurate to his contribution. This is true but it is not always beneficial when one is being ‘humbled’ by God,

Who, being in very nature[a] God,
did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage…

…rather, he made himself nothing

If God were not humble, I wonder what He has to say about taking human form. He has every right to complain.

And I… compared to God has nothing to boast. But to think of that I deserve to be treated in a certain way — something that God was never concerned about, at least for Himself — is a shame! Jesus did not consider equality with God. But I am always striving for equality of some kind. (I am not talking about human rights being violated. I am simply talking about blessings that we think we deserve.)

All Jesus cared about was the Kingdom and seeking and saving the lost. The more I become less concerned about equality, the more I can be concerned about the Kingdom of God. Honestly, days ago, God told me, “Riza I placed you there so that you would have a taste of Philippians 2 even as you have asked me for it. And to think, that that humbling is not even close to anything what Jesus did.” It’s just a notch down and it’s crushing my pride as if I were God becoming man. It’s crazy when you write it down and put it beside that Scripture!

How about you? Do you struggle with pride too? Lay your complaints beside Philippians 2:1-11 and ask God to show you His Humility.

Forgive me Abba for being too proud. And thank you Abba for teaching my heart to bend at your Word.

Leave a Reply

