Posted in Ministry, Missions

Vietnam, ‘Til We Meet Again


Pham Ngu Lao. The street where our the guest house we're staying at is located.

It’s raining here in Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam. It’s our last day in the city and some of my companions are doing their last minute shopping, even walking under soft drizzles just to get complete their “pasalubong” or “to buy” list. I do not have much money to spend so I did not shop that much. The conversion rate is also confusing: 1 US Dollar = 20,500 Vietnam Dong. It’s hard to haggle when the numbers just get mixed up in your brain. I’d sometimes stare for a long while before I open my mouth and ask for a lower price. Sometimes I just give up all together.

I also realized I made an unwise choice of gifts to buy when shopping in Cambodia… I saw some better stuff here, same price. But budget is low. I’m a bit sad I couldn’t buy the pretty purses for my girls. I guess though, what they don’t know won’t hurt them huh? Awwww… I wish I could buy more pasalubong.

I have been wanting to blog about our outreach in Oseytey, the door-to-door evangelism, the house visitations, the kids ministry, the “wet wipes” ministry, the miracle healings, random strangers getting attracted to our gatherings and coming in to ask for healing even without being invited, the host family who became our best friends, and the white sand beaches which were totally unexpected. Steffi and I were literally jumping for joy when they brought us to the beach during sunset. Postcard perfect view.

It’s hours before it’s time to leave for the airport. We’re flying midnight later. As they ‘panic shop,’ the rest of us (including me) must pack our bags and squeeze together the bulky goods in our skimpy bags. And go get a good bath. The weather here is humid. When it’s not raining, it’s oven hot. Either way (rain or shine), the air leaves you feeling sticky, especially your face and the skin under your shirt and tokong.

It’s been 19 days. Although I do miss my room and my family (especially my nephew), I do not feel that I have much to look forward to in the Philippines. Missions grows on you. It can be hard on the field but it once you’ve tasted its pleasures, memories of it’s passion, sweetness, nostalgia and intangible rewards are forever etched in your soul.

Bye Vietnam and Cambodia. Au Revoir! 🙂

Author:

broken. humbled. a life that's ruined for a cause. a jesus revolutionary.

Leave a Reply

