Posted in Campus, Journal, Ministry, Prayer

Give Me My High School


prayercircle:

I will place on his shoulder the key to the house of David; what he opens no one can shut, and what he shuts no one can open. Isaiah 22:22, NIV

17 November 2010, 3:30 AM
at a high school in Metro Manila

I met up with my co-volunteer in an official high school organization under whose program we conduct bible studies to a small group once a week. I was plunged into this ministry five months ago. The more I asked God why He has placed me there, the clearer it becomes that I was there to re-ignite the Christians to pray more, specifically… to hold regular prayer meetings, something which used to be present but had apparently died down. I shared my heart with my co-volunteer. The prayer part was just the second part of what I shared. The first part was about my burden to empower the kids to share the Gospel. We both agreed that these kids need an encounter with God. Something intense and so precious it would change their attitude towards evangelism forever! Then I shared about prayer…

I didn’t expect her to agree with everything I will say. She did! I was amazed and encouraged. All the while, I thought I was the only one who felt this way.

18 November 2010, 5:30 AM
in my bedroom

At first I thought I was there to “start” something. Yesterday, I realized, I was there to dig up an old well.

About 15 years ago, a group of teenagers in the boys’ dormitory started a prayer meeting. No it was not the teachers who started it! It was a group of students. God’s move spread. People got saved. They grew in number and from that little group that met to pray, a Christian organization was birthed. It is now an official school org that has the privileges and favor any school org has. It is in a position of authority and power. But how much use is authority and power without the power of the Holy Spirit being released constantly through focused and sustained intercession? We need more of God!

I also realized that many students from this high school have come to the saving knowledge of Jesus Christ. My co-worker would be one of them. I believe that it is because prayers were sown. Prayers are seeds for revival. I wonder (and I wanna find out!) what these young kids prayed!

This morning, I just couldn’t stop thinking of the fact that God’s eyes have been watching this campus intensely. He raised up a group that prayed. He established for this high school an organization that gave them access to favor and privileges. Now I believe that we are at the threshold of re-igniting that movement of prayer, so God would be able to release in full proportion the destiny He has for this school. I love God. He always has a blueprint. And each one of us has a unique part to play. I want to do my part. I want to be an instrument for revival. May He use me mightily to re-vive prayer. Amen.

And for the rest of us who are in HIGH SCHOOL or college, when are we going to start praying?

I have decided to keep this post protected until after have spoken to our organization’s head and a teacher in that HS.

Please pray for me because I will be setting an appointment with her hopefully this week. Nothing formal but I would like to propose to her gathering those students who have a burden for prayer. I will offer to train them an equivalent of maybe something like 4-6 hrs of teaching and ‘immersion.’ Hopefully we’ll get the prayer meetings started as soon as less than a month from now. I’m not even sure what I’m talking about but I want to do and I sense God’s heart for it. The Holy Spirit will help just help us figure out along the way… 😉

Continuation

Author:

broken. humbled. a life that's ruined for a cause. a jesus revolutionary.

One thought on “Give Me My High School

Leave a Reply

