Posted in Encouragement, Journal, Ministry

Shepherd (on learning to depend)


At 9:30 AM my young neighbor knocked at our house to return a book I lent her three days ago: For Such A Time As This by Lisa Ryan.

https://i1.wp.com/ak.buy.com/PI/0/250/31075514.jpgFor Such A Time As This is about us being a generation of Esthers called to significance and purpose, favor and destiny. It was so reader friendly and teen friendly that I knew it was the best thing to lend her. True enough, this morning to tell me that she’s gone through its pages over and over… Not only that, God had made part of it real right away in her life.

Per chapter, the book suggests ways on how to apply what has been taught. There’s one there about asking God for favor. Guess what? She prayed it and suddenly a friend came to her to open up and cry. She was awed at how quickly God responded!

Hearing her story got me amazed as well at how swiftly God moved. God wants to use her. God wants to use young teenagers to be a blessing to their peers by sharing Jesus. It is the Holy Spirit who will open the doors to favor and opportunities. It is our role to simply ask and be ready!

Just weeks ago, I felt really discouraged because I had tried to reach out to this young girl but it has been like pouncing against a wall. (See blog entry about this.) My friend is quite okay, she’s not the one who’s like a wall but the situation was. I just keep reaching a dead end. I keep initiating but she was not responding in such a way that I had hoped she would. Yes, she’s the very same person I referred to in this blog as “neighbor.” But God by his grace led me to pray without ceasing and to trust and depend on Him. Then three days ago, God opened the door again for us to reconnect. Her brother-in-law had apparently encouraged her to ask me to teach her more about God.

I that day that she was somewhat pressured to start something in her campus. (It’s also probably the reason why we’re not connecting well. I’m concerned about her and she thinks that I’m concerned about her classmates only.) So I encouraged not be pressured to be an evangelist or what not. I told her that God loves her no matter what. Just ask God to fill you everyday with His love. Then I lent her the book even as we also agreed to meet the following week. It took ten minutes. I really didn’t do much. But I have prayed days before that God would woo her. And God apparently had.

And here’s a valuable and humbling lesson I learned:

Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 (Emphasis mine.)

When I had exercised my strength and abilities, I found myself pushing against an immovable wall. But the moment I was fully dependent on God, when I was most weak and clueless, God humbled me by choosing to come. On His own, at His chosen way, and His appointed time, He comes.

So that He would receive all the glory.

Ad Majorem Dei Gloriam

Author:

broken. humbled. a life that's ruined for a cause. a jesus revolutionary.

One thought on “Shepherd (on learning to depend)

Leave a Reply

