No Boundaries: Watchmen on (Video-)call


prayer-for-philippine-campuses
jev (manila), meech (zamboanga city), ivane (san juan), riza (marikina city)

The idea popped up when my friend Meech and I prayed for each other via Skype one time. Then we thought, ‘We can actually do this more often..! Why don’t we have a prayer meeting via Skype?’

Personally, I get really desperate sometimes. I just feel like (and this is just me of course), I’ve run out of prayer partners. Most seem to have run away from the call. But I’m blessed with Meech being positioned by God in Zamboanga. I believe she’s there for a great strategic purpose.

Also sometimes, it seems like I’ve run out of friends who carry the same burden for praying for revival. There were days when I’d just weep on my own, cover my head with a pillow and all I would say over and over is “Come oh God. We need You. We’re desperate. I’m desperate. Just come oh God. Just come.”

I don’t want to force people to pray. But I am longing for the day when people would ask, “Take me to the prayer meeting because I want more of God and I know that if I pray, I will see the heavens open…”

Actually the complete story of how we came up with this online gathering would take a bit more words to tell. But in summary, Jev and I have been stirred up by God to start something for the campuses in Metro Manila, something that begins with radical 24/7 prayer houses focused on campus revival (Read ‘The Blueprint’ by Jaeson Ma to get what we’re saying or wait for my upcoming blog). Then we felt it has to be something that’s nationwide because our friends Meech in Zamboanga, Jane in Nueva Ecija, and Gle in Dumaguete, are also desiring it. We’re hungry for it.

This morning, with this burden in mind, a number of us just said we will not allow geographic barriers to keep us from uniting in prayer. So we prayed via ooVoo video conference. Unfortunately though, our two other friends didn’t make it, one because of brown out, the other was traveling that time. Four of us prayed for the youth and the campuses in the Philippines. We prayed that God would unite the Christians in the campuses, that He would release a new breed of Christians desperate for more of God in our nation, and willing to unite for the sake of taking the Philippine campuses for Christ.

But honestly, God just made me even more desperate after this prayer meeting. His heart is burning with such a love for the lost. His eyes are on these colleges, universities, high schools…

My prayer is that God would also cause your heart to burn. As this famous leader in the prayer movement have always preached, “It takes God to love God.” It takes God to desire God. It takes a move of God to stir up people into prayer. But please, passerby, do not wait for those who have already been stirred up by God to pray that you will also receive more passion for His cause. If you have not made it a habit yet, pray for your heart daily. I pray for my heart everyday. I ask God, God give me such a love for the lost. Give me Your heart. Wreck me some more with a revelation of Your love for me and Your love for the lost and You love for my nation. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

— A brief update on this morning’s prayer, God released so many encouraging words from Scripture but two things God placed in our hearts to do: (1) look for Christian students who have the same burden and start praying with them and (2) visit the victims of the recent explosion at DLSU after the bar exam. With no.2 in mind, we’re encouraged by and are claiming this word:

15He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation. 16Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved, but whoever does not believe will be condemned. 17And these signs will accompany those who believe: In my name they will drive out demons; they will speak in new tongues; 18they will pick up snakes with their hands; and when they drink deadly poison, it will not hurt them at all; they will place their hands on sick people, and they will get well.” – Mark 16:15-19 (NIV)

And just right now, God reminded me of this prophetic word given nine years ago:

Look to the university in Manila, says God. For I am going to bring a revival that the-Oh my Lord!— the Lord says, not hundreds, but thousands and thousands and thousands are going to get saved!! The Lord says, can I touch a whole university? Yes I can touch a whole university! I can come with my glory and I can come with my power in ways that you cannot imagine! – Prophetic Word for the Philippines through Cindy Jacobs, October 2001.

5 thoughts on “No Boundaries: Watchmen on (Video-)call

  1. I love and I love and so love the Lord for putting us together…I am so happy to see people who have a heart for God for prayer so much! I am looking forward for more of God’s manifestation in what are being done in the secret places… Prayer! Prayer! Prayer!

    Like

  2. When I was in college, students from different churches would gather in a rented apartment in the Katipunan area(near Pizza Hut).It was a youth center and tambayan,there was even a separate prayer room. A Christian group called “pathfinders” scheduled prayer chains with other Christians from different campuses and churches.My college friend invited me there and we also invited our non-Christian classmates because the place was open for study groups.It gave us an opportunity to pray for each other’s concern and it was also a place for rest when we had a long break.And of course,a chance to share our faith or just meet other students.There was a log book where you can reserve the prayer room so you can use it personally or with a group. I hope these ideas could help 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

