Posted in Gleanings, Ministry

The Glow


Forgive me for assuming. But ever since I noticed a remarkable change in the countenance of one of our church kids after our kids’ camp, I somewhat came to the conclusion that when a person gets “born again” – when he or she makes that decision to live for Jesus in response to the forgiveness and freedom from sin received from Him – something changes in his or her countenance, specifically noticeable when you look into the person’s face. The aura changes. It’s as if goodness that once was not there, is now shining. Glory.

So when I came to the Pisay Acts Youth Camp, I carried with me the expectation that some if not all of the youth who came but were not yet surrendered to Jesus (which is actually a minority) will manifest that change in countenance that I am talking about. I hoped and looked for it especially from this one particular kid.

There were two kids whose countenance caught me after the camp. One was someone I met for the first time and thus I have no means of comparison from his past. He admits to have given his life to Jesus for the first time on the first night of the camp. And with the joy that was constantly emanating from his face, I don’t think I really need any comparison. He looks more Christian than most of us now. Haha.

And there’s this other kid, the one I was ‘hoping’ for… First, his attitude changed. He was no longer sarcastic with comments. All of a sudden he was exuding patient endurance in serving us. But I won’t specify how anymore. Then when I finally had the opportunity to look at his face, I was pleasantly surprised, he had it. Somehow, I saw a changed man.

The Sunday after camp, when I attended our church fellowship, I also saw another face. One of the new bible study attendees we have in another high school. She was also beaming. From the last time we saw each other to that particular time, something had also evidently happened. I was thrilled.

Please forgive me for basing my judgments on highly subjective gauges. But I am quite positive that I am right. I remember my first time sharing the Gospel to a group of teenagers at Luneta Park. After we prayed the prayer (my sister led after I shared the word), their faces were smiling upon opening their eyes. I found the quick shift in appearance kind of weird. But when I told my sister about it, this was the simple thing she said, “Well they just accepted Jesus! what do you expect? Of course they felt the joy and so their countenance changed!”

Then I realized that time, I couldn’t be more guilty of lack of common sense.

Second Corinthians 3:18 says, “And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.” Ephesians 1:13-14 says, “And you also were included in Christ when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation. Having believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance…

The moment the veil is removed, like the moon, we become those who reflect the sun of God’s shining light. He marks us for Himself and marks us with Himself. No wonder the changed countenance! A life-giving spirit that once was not there is now living inside. In other words, every time I look into their faces, I’m already seeing Jesus and not the old man. Isn’t God awesome?

Author:

broken. humbled. a life that's ruined for a cause. a jesus revolutionary.

Leave a Reply

