fireproof & high schoolers


I know it was not a coincidence that my young friend and sister moved in to the house almost next to us just several weeks after I moved in together with my family. She happened to be the young lady who was so anointed in ‘dragging’ her high school classmates for bible study. Last year, I was given the opportunity to lead one study in a public high school and she was my dependable mobilizer. Amazing thing is, we’re now neighbors, she has transferred to a nearby school, and her classmates live really near our place.

Who doesn’t like watching movies? So I thought (or maybe it was God and God told me) we could invite her classmates on a Saturday to watch a film at my place. We planned to do it this afternoon but up until this morning, she had not confirmed to me if she had invited her friends already. It turned out, she had. So at around 9:00 a.m., her sms message came in, saying that 15 of them kids will be coming over that day.


Well… I thought we didn’t have a deal yet! But we did. The thing is, I didn’t prepare for it! I don’t have the film yet, the player’s not set up, I didn’t buy food, I’m not yet done with some work, I have a 2:00 p.m. practice in church, yada yada… So after doing my morning devotions, I went down and started vacuuming the sofa (because mom said we can’t sit on it unless it’s clean! haha!), setting up the TV and DVD player (from which I can’t seem to make sound come out), and checking the kitchen cabinets if I have enough popcorn. I texted my sister also to ask if I can borrow a certain film DVD.

I thought they were coming over at 5:00 p.m. but at around 11:00 a.m., my neighbor friend comes knocking and she discovers me in sleepwear, perspiration dripping while attacking the sofa with the vacuum cleaner. “Ate Riza! Ang pangit mo!” She was used to seeing me dressed up and with make up.  A laughing ‘waaaaah‘ was the only thing I could say. After she finally got over her shock and laughter, she tells me her friends are coming 1:00 p.m. Another ‘waaaaa‘ Are you serious? How could you tell me just now? It turned out that that was what she’d said in her sms message. I understood differently!

So I vacuumed. (I couldn’t make her ’cause she’s already taken a bath.) And then went for the DVD player that wouldn’t work. Had my sister (who was the techie one in our family) call me but she couldn’t understand why the DVD had no ‘audio out’ port behind it. My dad arrived soon. He finally got it to work. But that was after, I took photos of the ports, emailed it to my sister (had to run upstairs to do this), went back and forth from the second floor to ground floor to attend to the vacuum in between attending to the cellphone (where my sister calls me). Uggggh. Crazy.

We finally finished the cleaning and remembered that my dad has some cool DVDs we can choose from, we prayed for a while and then bought additional foodies. The kids came. Only nine of them. (Still a lot I think.) And we had soooo much fun watching Fireproof! Even if they hardly listened to the serious conversations. Towards the end we were sobbing, then screaming, then cheering, then clapping. The End. We ran out of popcorn. We had excess soda. Each had a cupcake. They were happy. I was… happier, I think.

It’s good to meet new friends. It’s good to share Jesus. We’ll see what God asks us to do next. Let’s see what God does next. But for now, I think this is a good start.


Leave a Reply

