Posted in Journal, Neighborhood

DAY 1: It is a God initiative.


JULY 8, 2010

The morning of July 8, before the clock struck 7:30 am, suddenly I was wide awake. Still a bit sluggish but conscious and lucid. Then there was a voice in my head that said: go bike! (I had planned to start a daily biking exercise the day before but missed it ’cause I got up a bit late.)

prayer-bike-walkWell today as any other day, my morning routine dictates that I should read the Bible first and then have some worship time before going out of the house. But funny how the voice was strong, steady, convincing and kept on repeating! Go bike now…! “Okay, okay Holy Spirit. Sure.” Seconds from then, I was already enjoying the cool morning breeze against my skin. Man, I’ve somewhat forgotten what it felt like. What a lovely morning!

Ever since my family and I transferred to our new house, I haven’t really found time to get to know my neighbors and _____ which I have been wanting to do… to see what God could possibly have for our tiny compound. So that was the day that I started my ‘prayer bike.’

I didn’t really plan it that way, but as I was pedaling my way around, I felt led to pray and sing “Salvation spring up from the ground, Lord rend the heavens and come down…” I forgot the rest of the lyrics so I wasn’t able to progress with the song that day. Hihihi. But now I remember it “seek the lost and heal the lame, Jesus bring glory to your name. Let all the prodigals run home, all of creation breaks and groans, Lord we’ve heard of your great fame, Father cause all to shout your name.”

Then I asked God what else I can do. I felt led to ask for a divine appointment. Faithfully, God did lead me to a neighbor whom I already knew. Honestly, I was hoping for a new acquaintance but it was to her that God led me towards the end of my biking rounds. She’s a my young friend and churchmate who brought lots of kids to the bible study I handled last school year. She has already transferred to a new public high school (’cause her family also just moved in). I asked her how she’s doing in school and our conversation ended up with a Math tutorial. She’s a junior high. 😛

It’s also funny how her brother in law had dragged her out of her bed to sit down right in front of their porch, as if she’s waiting for me, her Math tutor to be. Neat.

I was wondering why God had led me to her instead of to someone else but as I was walking back home, I realized that this could be the beginning (or the continuation) of our partnership in discipling high school kids and neighbors. Wow. There’s just so much potential in this place God has planted us in. To think, I’ve been really wanting to have more bonding time with this young lady. Now God finally provided the opportunity.

So that’s DAY 1 of my new bike-pray-wait-for-the-Lord’s-instruction morning routine. I know there’s definitely miracles to come.

Note 1: I have already been praying for my neighbors the past two weeks, asking for hearts to be softened, for my heart to come from a position of ‘overflow’ rather than duty, and for a strategy that’s easy but anointed. Then came the bike.

Note 2: I am not proposing that we should not initiate. I am simply emphasizing the fact that even as we DO, at the start of it all, it is still really God who initiated first. And I am truly grateful for that!:

In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins. – 1 John 4:10

But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. – Romans 5:8

Author:

broken. humbled. a life that's ruined for a cause. a jesus revolutionary.

Leave a Reply

