Obsession


Our vocabulary word for today is “obsession.” According to my Apple Macbook dashboard’s dictionary, the word is defined as:

Obsession -an idea or thought that continually preoccupies or intrudes on a person’s mind ex. He was obsessed with thoughts of finding the perfect girl.

“Obsessive” is a derivative of the same word. ex. I have an obsessive personality.

Now let me proceed from there. I have a confession to make. I have an obsessive personality! I tend to obsess about almost anything that I commit myself into. I obsess myself with work and thus tend to be workaholic. I obsess myself with excellence so I tend to get easily frustrated by failure. I obsess myself with the future thus I tend to fall into useless anxiety. Tsk tsk tsk. Not good at all eh? A case for psychotherapy? Hahaha.

But now let me shift from ‘my problem’ a bit and share with you the title and lyrics of a song by David Crowder Band that i really really like. It’s a Christian song called “Obsession” and goes this way:

What can i do with my obsession
With the things i cannot see…
Sometimes You’re further than the moon
Sometimes You’re closer than my skin
And You surround me like a winter fog
You’ve come and burned me with a kiss

And my heart burns for You
And my heart burns…for You

A MIND that has the capacity to get passionately CONSUMED with thoughts of things that it desires to grasp is a good mind to have but without the REVELATION of Jesus, it will fall into MADNESS – nut case, bonkers, and not the good kind of madness but the kind that wastes our energy, scatters our efforts, puts us off-target, and exhausts our spirit.

Paul exhorted the people of Colossus:

“For by him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things were created by him and for him. He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.”

The other day, while I was praying this Scripture, I was gripped with repentance for not using my mind “FOR JESUS,” the reason for which it was created. It was FOR HIM that he created every part of my being, including my mind and it’s capacity to entertain, dissect and ponder and obsess – be with with lustful thoughts or revelations and mysteries of God – the choice is mine.

Not only that but we were created “through Him,” every bit and every part, even the things we DO NOT SEE – our thoughts, our feelings, our desires, all absurdities and mysteries that make us marvel. Thus all these bits and pieces of ourselves were created for God and are there to glorify God.

And thus as the song goes on to say:

my love burns for You
and my heart feels for You
my life good for You
all i have burns for you you
(Obsession, David Crowder Band)

Obsession with Jesus, with the Holy Spirit, with God the Father, is what we were created for. And all our energies and tendencies to think over and over again about things that do not satisfy our spirit like Jesus does, are mere perversions of what we truly were created for.

So I’ve asked God to shift me. I refuse to suppress my desires but I surrendered my thoughts to God and asked Him to shift on Jesus, the ONLY one who satisfies, not only my heart, but also the cravings of my mind. I will love him with all of my MIND. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Obsession

  1. i think obssesion is underrated. it’s somethig that we don’t imediately recognize and before we knew it, it’s caused so much stressed. buti nalang binibigyan tayo ni Jesus ng peace ;p

    Like

Leave a Reply

